Yoga for Living with Loss Workshop Handouts





Yoga for Living with Loss

With Sheena Nancy Sarles



As you navigate living with loss, grief, or transition, yoga can support you in body, mind and spirit using the energetic fields of your chakrahs.


CHAKRAS are wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

Chakras align with your endocrine system. The function the chakras is very intricate in that it is an energy system that communicates with the body via biological systems, such as the endocrine glands and nervous system, to keep it balanced and healthy.


Staying present is our foundation for navigating loss. We can worry about the future, regret the past, grasp for what we can no longer have, and deeply feel the emptiness of our loss. However, in this very present moment, we have all we need. Focusing on our chakrahs can offer the opportunity to reveal where we have congestion and how we can move our physical bodies to release what we intentionally or unintentionally hold on to.


For each chakra we will incorporate:

  1. Visualize the color
  2. Acknowledge the element
  3. Focus on the specific area of our bodies
  4. Practice a breathing method
  5. Hold our hands in a mudra - use of hand gestures that carry specific goals of channeling your body’s energy flow
  6. Movements that flow to that area of the body
  7. Bring a meditation



The Chakrahs



Print Print | Sitemap
© Growing Younger Gracefully